Romantic crap that’s not romantic. At all.

Standard

Okay, I give up. Is there some secret I don’t know about? Some sort of… life-changing, meaningful insight I don’t have? Magical fairy dust?

How do people write romance?

I don’t get it. I’m working on a marriage proposal. Except I seem to have no idea what I’m doing. ¬†Might be lack of personal experience, I don’t know. It just doesn’t seem… right.

I write a sappy scene. I write a comical scene. I write a sombre scene. I write it public, I write it private, I write it all over the freaking place, and it always, ALWAYS seems weird. Sometimes because it just is weird, but mostly because I think “No, that’s not the way he’d go about it, and that’s not a proposal she’d accept!”. But when I do write it the way I think it’d happen, I read it again and then go “But this isn’t romantic! No-one would want it to happen like that! That’s not how it goes down in a properly written romantic subplot!”.

Jesus Fried Chicken, I know why I hate romantic subplots, even the tiny ones. At least when I’m the one writing them. I’m not a romantic person, and I happen to have written two rather un-traditionally romantically involved characters. So it’s either sticking with the “logical” proposal (for them), or the “romantic” one (for the readers), which would be SO out of character it would look like it’s from a different novel -.-

How does anybody write a good romantic subplot without smashing half a dozen keyboards on their forehead?

Writing is hard T_T

 

-Ricarda

2 responses »

  1. Oh god, I feel you. The only time I can write even semi-decent romance is with fanfic, because I don’t have to make it all up. I’m trying to do a romantic subplot right now and it isn’t working AT ALL.

    As for your story, do you actually have to do a traditional proposal scene? Or could you do something like Character A saying “You know, we could get married someday” and Character B replying with “Sure. Why don’t we?” I think if its in-character enough, readers won’t question the lack of a traditionally romantic proposal.

Leave a Reply

