France, writing, and a lot of alcohol

Standard

“There’s Nick, solemn and brooding; Cas, light-hearted and playful; Trev, smart and caring; and Sam . . . who’s stolen Anna’s heart.”

When ‘love interest’ is literally the only trait the male lead gets on the cover, I WILL judge this book by its cover. Because I really, really love it when I actually know who I will have to put up with when reading the story, and ‘love interest’ is not exactly something that seals the deal for me… ├┤.O

Also, someone stole my plot. Elements of it, anyway. Blech. This is why I should stay away from the YA and sci-fi sections on Amazon. Now I keep thinking “Nooo, you can’t use the cloning anymore, people DID it before, people will LAUGH at you for it!”. Awesome, brain. Sometimes, I think authors were better off before the internet. They just didn’t know when someone had written a book like theirs before (or they were less likely to find out, in any case). And then I remember the shit-ton of research I have to do, and how horribly equipped our library’s non-fiction department is, and feel the need to hug my computer. Also, no typewriter, woohoo!

Let’s just hope the next two weeks will help me make some progress. But since when has the ocean (plus wine) not been inspiring…? :D

(I’m still bummed I can’t read Bound┬áright away, but that’s just giving me something to look forward to^^ … then again, it’s the day of Germany vs. USA, so I probably won’t be doing much reading on the 26th, anyway, but a lot of pastis-drinking and referee-cursing…)

 

-Ricarda

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

