Why do I keep playing these games?!

Standard

No, seriously. I play a lot of video games, and plenty of horror games, but I’m specifically talking about the Silent Hill series here. These are the only games in the history of video gaming that really scare the shit out of me. No other game left me so utterly shocked and impressed at the same time. Still, every time there is a new installment in the series I grab the controller and take another trip to the Town of Terror.

Why on earth does a sane human being not stop once they know how freaking scary this is?

Truth is, I couldn’t even make a guess. I only know that everything about this series is plain fascinating. The mythology, the in-game history, the characters…  I just can’t get away from it. The more I get to know the more I want to know. Damn that vicious cycle…

I’m just relieved by the thought that I’m not the only one who is that irrational. I mean, we still get new games after all, don’t we…?^^

 

 

Warum spiele ich diese Spiele immer noch?!

Ich meine, im Ernst. Ich spiele eine Menge Videospiele, und eine Menge Horrorspiele,  aber ich rede hier speziell von der Silent-Hill-Serie. Den einzigen Spielen in der Geschichter des Videospiels die mir eine Höllenangst einjagen. Kein anderes Spiel hat mich derart schockiert und gleichzeitig beeindruckt. Und trotzdem greife ich jedes Mal, wenn ein neuer Teil der Serie herauskommt, zum Controller und unternehme eine weitere Reise in die Terrorstadt.

Warum um alles in der Welt hört ein vernünftiges menschliches Wesen nicht auf zu spielen nachdem es weiß, wie furchterregend das ist?

Ehrlich, ich kann nicht einmal raten. Ich weiß bloß, dass die ganze Serie schlicht faszinierend ist. Die Mythologie, die Geschichte im Spiel, die Charaktere… davon komme ich nicht los. Je mehr ich erfahre desto mehr will ich wissen. Verdammter Teufelskreis…

Ich bin bloß erleichtert, dass ich nicht die einzige bin, die sich so irrational verhält.  Ich meine, wir bekommen ja immer wieder neue Spiele, nicht…?^^

 

 

-Ricarda

Leave a Reply

