I have no life…

Standard

But I’m totally okay with that :)

 

So, NaNo is over, it’s too cold to go anywhere if I don’t have to, and that means: gaming time! Aside from catching up on the 140 hours I lost when I tried to transfer my Skyrim save games from my brother’s PS3 to mine (apparently, you’re not allowed to do that; the game will let you load and play the save game on another system/account, but not save or earn trophies. Way to go, Bethesda -.-), I spent my time in Guild Wars 2 and thus in Tyria. I’ve already spent way too many hours playing Guild Wars, way back when it first came out (and saying that makes me feel really old right now…), and when they announced GW2, it was clear I’d buy that too. And while I had little time during summer (new town, new place, BA thesis, the usual…), I kind of became obsessed with the game again during NaNo (wonderful timing, I know…), and it has eaten most of my life since then. Not that I mind.

It’s an awesome game. They took all the good stuff from GW, mixed it up with some (necessary) alterations, wrote up a cool storyline, and there you go, best MMO I ever saw :) Everyone who’s toying with the idea of trying out online gaming, but shies away from a) monthly fees and b) mediocre graphics can very well give GW2 a try. No fees, just buy the game and play, and the graphics are decent enough, even for a game that has been in development for a solid five years (probably longer, but that’s when they announced it). All in all, it’s my personal Game of the Year. And yes, it even beats Skyrim. Which is technically a 2011 game, but I only got around to playing it this fall… what? I was broke last November and couldn’t afford a new PC or console :P

 

Anyway, I’d like to introduce you to my two favourite chars. Meet my main-main char (yes, that is a word^^), the lovely norn elementalist Darla Firebringer:

GW2_Darla_Firebringer01

 

Alongside her, I trained this handsome fellow, who happens to be modeled after my MMC in my NaNo novel, norn warrior Petri Halvarsson:

GW2_Petri_Halvarsson01

(Below those two are my sylvari thief, my norn ranger and my asura necromancer, all still below level ten and only played very occasionally.)

 

Those two share a backstory; after I roleplayed my warrior for a while, he sort of became a unique character in his own right, and he has little in common anymore with the guy from my novel. Taking OOC to a whole new level^^ I’m currently writing up their story as a fanfic, and it may or may not end up on FF.net in the future. If I decide it can still be called a fanfic, that is. I took a lot of liberties with the actual GW2 storyline, and I’m not sure anyone would even want to read it. Meh. We’ll see.

So far, have a good night :)

 

 

-Ricarda

2 responses »

    • Guild Wars is, as of now, a PC only game; the Mac OS beta has been out for a couple weeks. Sadly, it will probably never be a console game.
      Unless you meant Skyrim, that is available for PC, the 360 and the PS3.

Leave a Reply

