Fuck you, universe -.-

Standard

There are days when I just know that the universe is screwing with me. Today is such a day.

First a problem with an insurance company needed sorting. A problem I shouldn’t have because I canceled my insurance, which got confirmed. Twice. But since people trust computers and computers are stupid, that info didn’t get through, so they tried to collect the fee for 2014. I reversed this transaction, called and was told that I shouldn’t worry, the system would recognise the transaction, and no-one would ask for money anymore.

Again, fuck you. First, they sent me a check for the amount of the fee because they already collected it, oblivious of the fact that I already got my money back. Then, they wanted proof that I didn’t cash the check, which I sent. But because they are way quicker collecting their money than they are reading their clients’ emails, I received a dunning letter at the very same day. Because I didn’t pay for my insurance. Which I don’t have anymore. Which they confirmed multiple times in various ways.

Today I was told to ignore that claim, come December the system would update and correct the error.

I’m afraid this isn’t over yet.

 

And as if that wasn’t enough, my computer decided to screw with me as well. First it went out. Just like that. Since my monitor and speakers still worked and the light of the plugbar was still on, I assumed it was the computer’s fault. Called brother, brother fiddled with it for a bit, nothing. Plugged it into another bar, works just fine. Plugs it into the old bar again, runs like it always did. What the fuck? I mean it, computers are stupid. And evil. Especially evil.

Well, that wasn’t the end of it, obviously, since I spent the last two hours digging around in my system, trying to get my USB ports to work again and connect with my usual mouse (or any mouse for that matter; one still worked, but only in one port, that picky diva). Nothing helped until I disconnected the hub (which still had the keyboard plugged in and that worked just fine, mind you) and plugged it into another port. For the second time, because hey, it might just work now. Bam, problem solved. Lesson learned: If something doesn’t work, just keep trying the simplest solution over and over again like a moron, because either way you’ll lose a few hours, and you don’t run the risk of killing your system dead with a wrong click. Also, you don’t have to google every weird error description possible.

 

Now I’m just glad I wrote 1.5k already before all that crap happened. I’ll just add this post to my wordcount and call it a day, I think I can justify that today. And then I’ll probably go and shoot some Nazis, because that always cheers me up. Go me!

 

On a side note, I’m not that far behind on NaNo anymore. I wrote zip on day 2 because I went over to a friend for a film night, and a little less than 1667 words for a few days after that, and now I need to write 1.8k per day just to win. Yeah, so much for writing 70k this November.

Ah, well, I still have time, don’t I?

 

Yes, this was rant-y. No, I do not care. But feel free to laugh at my misery, maybe it helps lifting your mood; go ahead, I don’t mind :)

 

 

-Ricarda

Leave a Reply

